Vicky’s spaghetti Bolognese

When I decide to make Bolognese I always check my kitchen cabinets to check my leftovers. There is always an extra spaghetti package and some tomato paste! So in moments of “what shall I cook today”, my answer is spaghetti Bolognese! Even though it is an Italian classic, you can do it in various ways. You can add carrots and celery or/and some bacon for extra taste. I prefer the typical Greek kind of way, where you use onions, mince, some wine and tomato sauce. And oh! Some feta of course!


Ingredients
400 gr fresh beef mince
2 onions
3 scallions
5 cloves of garlic
400 gr tomato sauce
1 small glass of rose wine
1 spaghetti package

fresh parsley
fresh basil
oregano
olive oil
black pepper
white pepper
salt
Parmesan cheese or feta

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Procedure

Heat the olive oil in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan on medium heat. Add the onions chopped along with the garlic. Let them fry for 6-7 minutes in order to be soft. Add the mince and try to open all its chunks. Throw in your herbs and spices (keep some of the fresh for garnish later and for some extra taste). Fry it in high heat and as soon as it is spread, throw in the wine. Let the wine evaporate and take out all its taste. It smells delicious doesn’t it?

Now it is time for the sauce. Reduce heat to low-medium. I used a sauce that already had some spices and was not completely tasteless. You can alternatively use tomato paste and fresh tomatoes- I just didn’t have some at home and used what I had in my cabinet! Throw some water if it is too thick and let it boil for an hour or so in low heat.

In a pan with boiling water add some salt and cook the spaghetti according to package instructions. When they are ready toss them in the saucepan and stir gently so that all the flavors will combine. You can now sprinkle your gorgeous Bolognese with some Parmesan cheese or if you want to do it the Greek way with some feta! Add the extra basil and voilà!

Excellent!

Leave a comment