Kale Pesto with Conchiglie

kale pesto-27

You are all aware of the kale frenzy in the blogosphere the last two years. I am not a big fan of trends and fashions in any way, unless it is something I really like. Then I follow, but always adjusted to my personal taste. And this is what happened with the kale foodblog trend too. I discovered this easy recipe in a forgotten magazine and I thought I would give it a try. Kale is blessed with a lot of fiber, iron and vitamins. And with the macademia and avocado, two of my favorite ingredients in the whole world, it is delicious. I am generally not a big fan of kale and here in the Netherlands it is basic ingredient for the traditional cuisine, for the famous stampot. You can find it everywhere, it is really cheap, and you can grow it really easily at any type of ground. We also grew it in our school garden at work and I always avoided any contact with it. But this recipe changed everything. If you too have doubts about this unique vegetable, give this recipe a try and let me know at the comments below!

kale pesto-10

Prep Time: 5 minutes, Cooking Time: 15 minutes, Serves up to 4 people

Ingredients
200gr Conchiglie pasta
100gr chopped kale
50gr macademia nuts
1 medium avocado
a pinch of salt
ground black pepper
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp olive oil

kale pesto-2     kale pesto-19     kale pesto

kale pesto-16

Method
If you have whole kale stems, clean and cut them using a simple technique from here. I used already trimmed kale from the supermarket. As I said, here it is everywhere already cut and cleaned. Handy right?

In a food processor add the madacemia and smash them roughly, not totally thin because you need some crunchiness into your pesto. Add the kale in and mix till combined. Add the pulp of the avocado and the lemon juice and stir with a spoon. Keep it rough.

Bring to taste with salt and pepper and add the olive oil. Boil the Conchiglie according to package instructions. Let the pasta cool down. Stir the pesto good and serve it with the cold pasta. Eat it immediately or keep it one day in the fridge.

Enjoy!

kale pesto-22kale pesto-17

Leave a Reply

