Smokey Beetroot Hummus

When I buy beets, I usually just boil them and serve them with garlic, lemon juice and olive oil as a side salad, all year round. I never actually thought of roasting them, maybe because my Greek mother never thought about it either and when it comes to food, most of the knowledge and tips I got from her!

So, I came across this great recipe on Pinterest (the food blogger’s heaven) and I thought I should give it a try. So thank you a lot The Year In Food blog for the great inspiration. Instead of pistachios I used roasted pine nuts (I always keep a handful of them in a jar so that I can easily use them when needed!) and dried dill.


Serves 4 to 6 persons. Time needed: 60 min for the beets, 10 min for the hummus

45 Beet-4

Ingredients
3 medium beets
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
The juice of 1 lemon
2 tbsp tahini
4 cloves garlic (you can add less, I like it spicy!) pressed or minced
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon chili flakes (I use the Greek version which is lighter, bukovo)
sea salt depending on desirable result

1/4 cup roasted pine nuts
2 tablespoons chopped dill or 3 tbsp dried
Fresh white bread for serving

45 Beet-6

45 Beet-5

Instructions
Preheat your oven and rinse the beets. Pierce them a few times with a fork (great tip), place them in a greased baking dish and cover with aluminum foil. Roast them for about 50 min (top 60 if you see they are not soft enough yet) and set them aside to cool.

In a food processor add the chickpeas, lemon juice, tahini, pressed garlic, paprika and chili flakes. Wait until the beets are cool enough, peel them and then combine all ingredients together. Add how much sea salt you think is necessary. Some like it salty, some not.

Puree until it becomes smooth and easy to spread. Add a tablespoon or two of olive oil if you would like to thin its texture.

Serve it in a bowl, garnished with the roasted pine nuts and the dill.

45 Beet-2

5 thoughts on “Smokey Beetroot Hummus

Leave a Reply

